Good News For Me

Wednesday last I went for a breast biopsy. This was my second. The first was two years ago and on the right breast. This one was on the left. The earlier one was simple. They told me that it would probably be fatty tissue right up front and it was. But this one was a lot more scary. My (3rd confirming) mammogram showed microcalcifications! These are calcifications as small as grains of salt. When they are in clusters it’s not good. I went on the internet and surfed the term. Seemingly they can be an early sign of breast cancer.

The radiologist said they were abnormal and highly suspicious and that I needed to have a biopsy. I had a stereotactic biopsy (see pic up top).  It took two hours, was a little painful, and uncomfortable for my neck and spine. Afterward I went home and waited for the results.

As the days dragged on (in slow motion) I became more and more anxious. I’d read what would need to be done should it turn out to be the worse case scenario–very scary. I’d made up my mind that if it was bad news I’d go for treatment to Houston. And I was working out how I was going to do that. Yes, these were the thoughts. It was sobering. 

Finally, a week to the day,  the nurse called to tell me there was no sign of cancer in the tissue samples they’d taken. I can’t tell you the relief. Hubby was so relieved he took me out to dinner last night.

As happy as I am about my results I am still feeling down. When I went to the breast cancer websites I read the stories of women diagnosed with the same microcalcifications Bi-rad4 as I’d been, but their results were cancer. And they are having to endure some awful painful decisions and surgeries. It’s heart-breaking. I do know a couple of women who have beaten breast cancer and so I believe the odds are good that most of these women will beat it too. it’s just so terribly sad that any of them have to go through it at all.

 

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Benedict
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 23:21:00

    I’m so glad it turned out not to be cancer, Elizabeth. Hope this is the last time you have to go through that.

    Reply

  2. desk49
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 23:29:52

    Happy for you
    sad for the others

    Reply

  3. Carolyn Porter
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 07:03:29

    So happy to hear the good news. Praise God that it is not you who has to walk through this particular trial. Hope you continue to celebrate

    Reply

    • elizabethre
      Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:38:19

      That was the first thing I did Carolyn, praise God for His mercy to me. I don’t know how women who don’t know Him as their Savior go through something as awful as breast cancer (or any other for that matter). He was/is my Hope in the midst.

      Reply

  4. Deanna Schrayer
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 07:43:57

    Thank God your results were negative Elizabeth! I too have known a couple of women who beat breast cancer, including my aunt, and it is so very sad to watch what they have to go through. Thankfully the women I knew were already strong to begin with and they fought with all their might, both are doing well now.
    This is a great reminder to us to ensure we have mammograms on a “regular” basis!

    Reply

    • elizabethre
      Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:48:31

      Thanks Deanna.
      I’m hoping the time is near when they will be able to tell before biopsy whether the suspicious area is cancer or not. That way all those thousands of women who do not have cancer won’t have to be needlessly butchered every year. (I know butchered’s a strong word, but that’s what it feels like.) And those who do will receive speedier treatment. Man can see into the deepest parts of the universe and tell what’s there. Why can’t we do that with the human body?

      Reply

  5. Carol Ann Hoel
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 16:35:50

    I’m glad for you, Elizabeth. I’m sorry you had to endure the anxiety. I can imagine the weight lifting off your shoulders. Don’t let anything drag you down. We all have challenges, and God would have seen you through, but in this case, He delivered you. Be happy and thrive. Good health and multiple blessings to you…

    Reply

  6. Nancy
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 17:40:40

    Hi,

    I am so glad to hear of your good news! I had a needle biopsy on May 23rd for a suspicious calcium deposit. This too is my second time for a biopsy. The first time because of the location, they had to do open surgery. Thanks to god it came back benign. It is so scary to even here the word biopsy but I think the waiting for the results makes the procedure seem like nothing. This is now day 13 and still no word. I have called the DR office and the reception said she would have the DR call. Well now it is past 6:30 and the office closed at 5:00. Looks like it is going to be a long weekend. I am trying to stay positive but the anxiety is doing a number on me.

    Take care and have a blessed day!
    Nancy

    Reply

    • elizabethre
      Jun 04, 2011 @ 08:37:58

      Nancy,
      I’m so sorry you have had to wait all this time for your results. It is such a frightening thing and can leave you feeling totally washed-out. I was climbing the walls for seven days I can’t imagine going through that for two weeks. I will be holding you up in prayer, for peace as you go through this weekend and good results when your report comes in on Monday. ((((BIG HUGS)))))
      Elizabeth
      Nancy, I tried to look for your blog, your name nor avatar is linked to it so please let us know how things go and let me have your blog address.

      Reply

      • Nancy
        Jun 04, 2011 @ 09:04:05

        Thank you so much for your support. Today is another day and I am feeling much better than yesterday. Like many say, it is like a roller coaster ride. My family has a history of breast cancer. My mom passed away when I was 7 from breast cancer. My sister had a lumpsectomy a few year ago and my niece (aged 33) just had a mastsectomy in January. When I awoke this morning I feel a calmness and thanked God for giving me the strength to deal with this anxiety. Thank you again for your kind words and support. ((((HUGS)))))

        God Bless You

        Nancy

        Reply

  7. Patricia
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 20:13:29

    Happy to hear the news was good, Elizabeth. Praise God–His mercies are new every day.

    Reply

  8. elizabethre
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 10:17:49

    Nancy,
    God is so good. I’m so blessed the Lord has covered you with His peace. There is nothing like it and unless you’ve experienced it for yourself it can’t be described. It passes all understanding.

    I’m so sorry you lost your mom at such a young and tender age. I can’t even begin to imagine how awful that was for you… Your family history with breast cancer is so scary. No wonder you were so anxious.

    My prayer for you is that the Lord will bless and keep you. Make His face shine upon you, and hold you in His peace forever.

    Love and hugs,
    Elizabeth

    Reply

  9. Nancy
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 07:30:08

    Good luck today! Thinking of you!

    HUGS!

    Reply

  10. elizabethre
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:00:53

    Thanks Nancy. :)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

