My Favorite D-Day Remembrance Story

article-2650882-1E889F9F00000578-521_306x490Mr Bernard Jordan, after learning he wouldn’t be allowed to go to Normandy for the remembrance services this year, gave  his carehome attendants the slip by saying he was going for a walk, and went anyway. He got himself a hotel for the night and then hopped on the ferry to France the next morning.article-2650882-1E8A4DC200000578-850_634x717

Every time I think of him I smile. He made it all the way to France and took part in the services. His gutsy determination is inspirational. How many of us stop short of making our dreams come true due to some fiddling little obstacle? I figure quite a lot. Well, this wonderful gentleman proves the only thing stoppping us is us. article-2650882-1E8A673F00000578-298_634x381

This last photo is of him on his way back to Britain. Well done Bernard! And thank  you! Wish I could give you a big hug.  :-)

Photos from Dailymail.co.uk

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pattisj
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 22:58:32

    I hope his caregivers weren’t too upset by his absence. I would think they’d be quite concerned.

    Reply

  2. elizabeth
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 23:28:09

    Yes Patti, someone saw him on the coach to Normandy and called them. :-)

    Reply

  3. Alma
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 13:54:20

    That is the Spirit that also won the war – whether the ones in Command / or those who gave their Lives to be a part of the Invasion … we need More of that Conviction in our lives today … love your blog, Liz

    Reply

  4. elizabeth
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 18:12:48

    We sure do Alma, and thanks, I’m glad you’re enjoying it. :-)

    Reply

  5. manningtreearchive
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 10:20:57

    It’s nice that you posted this, Elizabeth. Well done. Btw, sorry – I couldn’t read your last two posts earlier. I was travelling to other States due to the graduation and initial Fashion Show.of my daughter.

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Jun 08, 2014 @ 12:17:19

      Wow, that’s awesome Jo, you must be very proud of your hard-working and talented daughter. It must have been really emotional to see her fashion show. I bet y’all were in tears. All the best for her successful career.

      Reply

      • manningtreearchive
        Jun 11, 2014 @ 01:52:42

        Thank You, Elisabeth. It was truly a day to remember. For her Graduation show, she presented three garments based on a theme related to “Macbeth”. When I watched that show, the quote that crossed my mind was “Dear Daughter, if I could give you one thing in life, I would give you the ability to see yourself through my eyes. Only then would you realize how special you are to me…” I shall convey your wishes to her. :-)

        Reply

        • elizabeth
          Jun 13, 2014 @ 09:30:58

          What beautiful words Jo. I think I’m going to share them with my son. :-)
          Wow, a Macbeth theme. That must have been a huge challenge. I’d love to see her garments. They sound amazing.

          Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

