There’s An App For That!

Ever found yourself in need of some poetic sustenance while waiting in the doc’s office or at the dentist, or in the line at the DMV? I have. I can’t carry all of my poetry books with me when I go out, but I do always have my phone. Well, I’ve found a wonderful app for my iPhone from The Poetry foundation, and it’s free.

I”ve been enjoying the app for a couple of days now. It has this pair of fun spinning wheels with which to find random poems. I found this little gem by Anna Barbauld by spinning those wheels. I love it. I hope you enjoy it too.

 

Barbauld_cameo

TO THE POOR
By Anna Lætitia Barbauld

Child of distress, who meet’st the bitter scorn
Of fellow-men to happier prospects born,

Doomed Art and Nature’s various stores to see
Flow in full cups of joy—and not for thee;

Who seest the rich, to heaven and fate resigned,
Bear thy afflictions with a patient mind;

Whose bursting heart disdains unjust control,
Who feel’st oppression’s iron in thy soul,

Who dragg’st the load of faint and feeble years,
Whose bread is anguish, and whose water tears;

Bear, bear thy wrongs—fulfill thy destined hour,
Bend thy meek neck beneath the foot of Power;

But when thou feel’st the great deliverer nigh,
And thy freed spirit mounting seeks the sky,

Let no vain fears thy parting hour molest,
No whispered terrors shake thy quiet breast:

Think not their threats can work thy future woe,
Nor deem the Lord above like lords below;—

Safe in the bosom of that love repose
By whom the sun gives light, the ocean flows;

Prepare to meet a Father undismayed,
Nor fear the God whom priests and kings have made.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 08:54:45

    I’m soon going to have to break down and get an iphone/Smartphone. Right now I only have a dumb one with no web access. :)
    Great poem, thanks for sharing it Elizabeth!

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 12:18:50

      I know what you mean Deanna, it took me a decade to catch-up with the rest of the mobile world. I bought my (refurbed) unlocked iPhone 3gs from apple a couple of years ago and got a pretty good deal.

      I only put $100. a year on it (it’s a pay as you go, I’m cheap! LOL) and that pretty much sees me through the year. It has wi-fi and bluetooth so I can do a lot without paying a lot. :-)

      Reply

  2. manningtreearchive
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 21:04:48

    I am going to download that app ASAP. A very selective poem, indeed.

    Reply

  3. Carol Ann Hoel
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 19:53:37

    That sounds like an interesting App. I have an App for spider solitaire that entertains me in waiting rooms. Blessings to you, Elizabeth…

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

