Winds In The East

saving-mr-banks-mary-poppins

If you haven’t seen, Saving Mr Banks don’t miss it! Hubby and I saw it this weekend and we came out of the theater  amazed at how much we’d both enjoyed it. As it was our anniversary (29 years) I got to choose the movie we’d see, and I really didn’t feel like joining the hordes to see the greedy Wolf of Wall Street.

I’d seen a preview of Saving Mr Banks and thought it would probably be a slow mediocre bore of a movie, but I love both Tom Hanks and Emma Thomson and so decided to give the movie a chance. The story is the story of how Mary Poppins became a movie.

Mrs. Travers (emphasis on the MRS!) is an obstinate cantankerous character who has refused Walt Disney’s requests to make Mary Poppins into a movie for twenty years. She is adamant that her beloved ‘family’ will not be turned into cartoons. But Walt’s promise to his children makes him just as adamant the movie will be made.

Travers book sales have dried-up as has the money; and not wanting to lose her home she finally agrees to go to LA and  work on maybe allowing the movie to go forward, BUT with the stipulation she controls every aspect of the script. From the unexpected beautiful opening scene this movie grabs your heart and never lets it go.

We first meet Travers as a child in Australia. Her father, played brilliantly by Colin Farrell, adores her and encourages her to live in her fantasy worlds while her poor mother struggles to cope alone with the day to day burdens of their new home in the outback, three little children, and a problem husband. 

The movie flashes back and forth between Travers childhood and the present where Walt is trying every which way to encourage Mrs Travers to sign over the rights to her story, but she is increasingly immoveable and difficult to handle. As this movie progresses we are drawn into the process of the making of Mary Poppins. The song, Tuppence a Bag, always makes me cry. I only need to hear the first few bars and I’m in tears. I heard the first couple of bars and I was digging out my hankies. I needed those hankies quite a few times through this movie.

No, it’s not overly sentimental in any way. It is the depth of character and story that touch the heart and cause one to relate on a personal level. I’m not going to tell you any more about the movie because I want you to experience it for yourself. But let me say that the back story of Mary Poppins is magical, and not to be missed!

On a side note, whoever did the casting for Saving Mr Banks did a top-notch job. Every, single, actor, bar none, was perfectly cast. And apart from Thomson, Hanks, and Farrell I especially loved Paul Giammati’s character as ‘Mrs T’s’ limo driver.  

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janandmarley1
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:16:18

    Elizabeth, thank you for sharing this with us. I had no clue what the movie was about. We just watched a dvd on the life of Walt Disney and it was so interesting. He, like so many of us, battled depression and yet he was able to keep on keeping on. We have been looking for a good movie to go see this week. Am sending your post out hoping it will enlighten others. HOPE YOU ARE FEELING BETTER. Happy belated 29th anniversary. ooxoxox to you all, Marley & Me

    Reply

  2. Carol Ann Hoel
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:43:30

    Wow! Sounds like a great movie. It’s been ages since I watched Mary Poppins. Thanks for the videos. Very entertaining. I like musicals. This one looks like fun! Saving Mr. Banks. Hmm. Happy New Year and blessings to you, Elizabeth…

    Reply

  3. Deanna Schrayer
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 13:18:26

    I’m so glad you brought this movie to our attention Elizabeth. I hadn’t heard of it but it does look good and my sister loves Mary Poppins so I’m hoping she and I can go see it (my sons would never dream of watching a movie where something doesn’t blow up). :)

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Jan 01, 2014 @ 09:43:11

      LOL yep, it’s so not a movie the young fellas would want to see. Well, unless they needed a nice movie for a date night. Haha, did I give you a heart attack Deanna?

      All the best for 2014, may it be the very best year yet. Love and hugs :-)

      Reply

  4. jmgoyder
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 19:38:52

    Thanks for the recommendation and happy anniversary!

    Reply

  5. Patricia
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 20:23:11

    Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

  6. manningtreearchive
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 09:54:45

    Happy Anniversary, Elizabeth. You may check this “Mary Poppins”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWH3Hmsr5fM

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

