A Lump O’ Coal

Unknown-16

I looked out the window and what did I see?

A white-bearded man staring back at me.

I said, “What do you want, and why are you here?”

He said, “Could you spare us some hay for my hard-working deer?”

 

I rightly commanded, “be on your way!”

His skinny old reindeer all started to bray.

And before I knew it, they was all on the roof

Then a big lump o’ coal from the chimney came, “Poof!”

 

It rolled from the grate and stopped at me feet.

And I swear, (I kid you not,) it began to repeat,

“Give us some hay! And a cracker or two.

Help us go onward to see this night through.”

 

I picked-up that lump, and I opened the door.

I shouted, “Be Gone!” and I sent it to soar.

But low and behold it stopped in it’s tracks…

Then came at me hard, like struck by a bat.

 

It pounded and pounded me sorry old head.

Till I found me some shelter beneath me old bed.

Then the man with the beard bent down and peeked in.

Says he, “We’ll just help ourselves to the grain in yer bin?”

 

“Take what ever you want!” I started to say,

“You can have me whole barn if you’ll just go away.”

He bellowed a laugh, a loud, “Ho-ho-ho!”

Then pointed his finger, and shook it for show.

Unknown-17

“You’re a naughty wee man,” he said with a grimace.

“Where’s me wee bit o’ shorty, and me big glass o’ Guinness?”

While the reindeer were tearing the roof off me hoose.

From the white-bearded man I couldnae break loose.

Unknown-19

“Listen, says I, beginning to think…

There’s a bottle of Guinness under the sink.

You can have it, and shorties, if you’ll leave me alone.

And let me have peace in me own little home.”

Unknown-18

He bellowed again as he drug me from under.

And held me aloft by the back o’ me collar.

“You miserable old Scrooge!” He laughed even louder.

And slapped me right down on his great red shoulder.

 

“Who are you?” I asked, and feared the reply.

“I’m the Santa who rides  laden sleighs in the skies.”

But you’re not for real, me old daddy said so!

My stockings stayed empty those long years ago!”

christmas_stocking_tradition_jpg_napkin-r5bda7b58457e45468982c5443f16ad49_2cf00_8byvr_512

“You’re Daddy, Wee man, I’m sorry to say,

was even more miserly, than you are today! 

He never did teach you it’s better to give.

Or that kindness and love are the best way to live.

 

You were naughty, not nice, so you always got coal

But this year I’ve made it my mission and goal.

To tell you the truth. To open your eyes.

To the joy of the season and the wonderful prize.

 

Of the King who, born in a cold cattle stall,

Came down from heaven to rescue us all. 

I thought you should know, there’s joy for the now.

And it’s free for the taking, if to Jesus you’ll bow.”

Unknown-20

My heart filled with fire as each word pierced it’s shell.

I wanted to know all he had to tell.

We sat by the fire and drank a warm brew.

And I swopped-out me old life, and got born anew.

 

The wonder and joy exploded like fire.

To bless the whole world became me desire.

Then Santa, said, “Wee man, I need to press on.

There’s much work to be done and the night is way long.”

 

So, I hugged him and kissed him, and thanked him so much

For sharing the Savior with such an old Grouch.

I put on me coat, and I filled up me bag.

And ran round me neighbors, oh, the fun that I had!

 

They thought I was mental, or that I’d caught a cold.

But I loved them and told them the story of old

“Auch, foolish old man! it’s a fable we know!

We’ve didnae believe it, and so let it go.”

 

Me fire and me love, that they all clearly saw,

Touched them and filled them with wonderous awe.

Before I could turn round, the whole town was saved.

And living in heaven instead of the grave.

KneelingAtTheCross

So, don’t wait for old Santa, to bring you some coal

Go searching for Jesus, He’ll make your life whole.

Writer’s note: Yes, I’ve taken rhyming liberties with this, but I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it. :-)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 14:14:50

    I love this Elizabeth! Not only did you show a whole (and awesome) story in few words, there’s a rhythm to it that I can hear music to. :)

    Reply

  2. jmgoyder
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 01:38:38

    THIS IS FANTASTIC!

    Reply

  3. Tuula Perzan
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 21:00:15

    I absolutely love this Liz! Wonderful piece of writing! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Dec 18, 2013 @ 22:08:58

      Hi Tuula, so glad you enjoyed this. It was so much fun to write. Merry Christmas to you and yours too. :-) Please tell Rosie I said, Hi and Merry Christmas. ((Love and hugs))

      Reply

  4. sagedoyle
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 16:37:34

    I’ve awarded you the Blog of the Year Award 2013! (Forgive me if I’ve awarded you before and you declined, it’s hard to keep track of). There’s no obligation to accept, I understand completely if you don’t. Anyway, thanks for liking posts on my blog “The Journal of Wall Grimm.” I appreciate your coming by. For details about the award, please see my post http://wp.me/p41c99-oB Happy Holidays and have a peaceful and prosperous New Year! Sage

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

