Blackie

black_cat_eye_by_Drehli

The beautiful cat who appeared one winter’s night at her window had a luscious black coat which sparkled with frost. He barely whimpered as he rubbed-up against her windowpane. And even though the wind was howling and the snow was swirling, she heard him. Gently opening the window she calmly whispered, “Hello there Mr. Cat.”

“My name’s not Mr. Cat,” he replied. “I am The Black One, and I’ve come to get what’s mine!”

“But, but…” The red-hot fire in his eyes exploded just as she slammed the window down. It was no use. He was behind her in the sitting-room, where she knitted those fine wool socks for the boys fighting overseas. She watched in horror as he grew, and grew, and grew. “Who are you!” she cried.

“Sit!” came the reply.

Stumbling to the chair by the fire she collapsed over the arm in to it. Her terror increased as she noted, the fire in his brilliant yellow-green eyes, matched the brilliance of his growing white fangs and claws. He breathed on her. The putrid smell of sulphur choked her and she struggled for air.

“Miss Kind-heart, Miss Warm and cuddly, Miss Generosity! Huh? That’s what you show to the world, isn’t it? Your serving at the homeless unit, your humble cleaning of the church, your giving to the poor  and the needy, huh? But we know the truth, don’t we?” Once again his putrid breath spewed up her nose, in her eyes, and in her mouth; and then came the dagger like knives of his tongue cutting through her face as he licked and spewed, licked and spewed.

She retched again and again, but nothing came up. The tears were pouring from her eyes as she cowered in the chair. “What have I done? Why are you doing this to me?”

“So we’re going to play let’s pretend huh? His great black paw slapped her across the face and she winced. “Look! Look! over there!” He screamed, pointing to the kitchen. “What do you see?”

Trying hard to hold her head up so she could see passed him into the kitchen she whispered, “I don’t see anything.”

He pounced, “Ah-ha! So you admit it! You admit it!”

His paw came slamming down on her other cheek, and she felt the sting of his claws dig deep into the side of her nose. She was bleeding from both sides of her face and was just about to pass-out when he said, “You forgot about me! didn’t you!” He once again raised his great paw, but this time she caught it mid-air, and lifted him high. He pulled away and pounced claws wide open.

Startled, she woke and jumped up. Blackie, her little kitten clung to her sweater by his claws and held on for dear life. 

“Oh, my poor wee darling. I’m such a bad mother. Come-on Sweetie-pie, let’s get you some food.”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 15:09:22

    But all he wanted was a bite.. :) Great story Elizabeth, you misled me quite well as I thought she was hiding some horrible secret and the devil had come to get her.

    Reply

  2. pattisj
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 15:40:51

    I love a mushy muse. ;) Fun post!

    Reply

  3. elizabeth
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 15:48:28

    Thanks Patti. :-)

    Reply

  4. janandmarley1
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 23:43:18

    I had to share your post with my family. Last night our son said “Mom you want my two cats?” I reminded him of the only cat we ever owned who loved to give us “love bites.” So, no thanks. But then, I read your post and the man in the video is exactly what Kev was saying about his two. I can see him now trying to give his babies away. Thought this was going to be a dark scary post…think you got us all.
    :-) ooxxox

    Reply

  5. elizabeth
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 09:23:57

    Haha, that’s so funny Jan. I thought you meant your son read the story and then said, Mom you want my two cats?. I about spewed my tea. :-) Haha ‘Love bites.’

    My sister read it and said, thanks! how am I supposed to sleep now? She has two gorgeous cats. :-)

    Glad you got a chuckle out of it.
    Love and hugs :-)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

