I’m Home!


Myself on the Bonnie banks of Loch Lomond.

Whoo-hoo! I’m home :) I got in last night at midnight after a full day travelling. Thankfully the flights were all   pretty smooth, and the flight staff were lovely. I got up this morning and made hubby a much needed breakfast. Poor soul has lost weight since I’ve been away. Oops! I haven’t told you all that he was promoted to Commander in my absence and has been working day and night trying to set up good order with his troops. He is SOOOOoooo happy I’m home  :)

After he left for work I decided to go through the mountain of mail waiting for me on the kitchen table. While reading the credit card bill I noticed a charge for $96.00 out of Raleigh N.C. Hubby didn’t recognise it and I knew it wasn’t mine. So I called the credit card company and asked about it. It turned out some Smelly-Ratbag had used it for gas (petrol) in gas station in Raleigh where it was accepted. But when they tried to use it a second time (cloned-card) the charge was declined by our CC company. They thought it being used to buy Cigars in NC was suspicious. Why they didn’t call us after that????? So, now our card number is being changed.  Argh, I had that well memorized! Still, thankful the damage was minimal.

And now I’m going back to bed for a wee sleep. I am so looking forward to catching up on what you have been writing about. I will be coming by to visit with y’all shortly, and to fill you in on what I’ve been doing. Till then…   :)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oldtimerdot
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 11:09:49

    Great that you are home again, Elizabeth! Some of your posts did get reach us on the Forum so we’ve been following you. I hope you didn’t bring any of that yukky Scottish weather back with you. Dorothy/Oldtimer

    Reply

  2. Patricia
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 21:33:01

    Welcome home> Looking forward to hearing about what has been happening in your world.

    Reply

  3. Deanna Schrayer
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 08:39:45

    Welcome home Elizabeth! What a lovely picture of you, you look so happy. I hope the entire stay was fabulous and can’t wait to see more photos.
    Interesting, I just talked to a woman yesterday whose debit card was somehow stolen and used at Macy’s in CO, (we’re in VA), and she had to go through the rigamarole of getting a new card. So glad you caught that when you did, and I hope you don’t have to go through too much trouble to have it straightened out.

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Aug 17, 2012 @ 09:00:34

      Deanna, my oldest sister, Helen, took that picture. The day before I left for home she called me up and asked if I’d like her to take me anywhere. (She lives in York, England but had come up for a visit while I was home.) As it was raining I’d cancelled a trip to Edinburgh’s National Archives I’d planned for that day, so was at a loss. She offered to take me to Loch Lomond and I jumped at the chance. It was one of the most wonderful days of my trip.

      Even though it was raining we went walking in the beautiful Scottish countryside and along the shores of the tranquil Loch. It was refreshing beyond description. I could have stayed there forever! :)

      On the credit card business, I can’t imagine how awful that Debit card theft was for that poor woman. I suppose it was a blessing they didn’t clear out her bank account. Thankfully the credit card company seems to have taken care of everything for us. They are overnighting the new cards. So not too much hassel.

      Reply

  4. ivonprefontaine
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 10:50:18

    Great to have you back.

    Reply

  5. ashleigh
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 18:51:38

    Big congrats Uncle Hank :)
    Thank goodness you noticed the credit card transaction, so many wouldn’t!
    My favorite place is Cameron House at Loch Lomond, especially at Christmas time xx

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Aug 17, 2012 @ 20:29:35

      Ashleigh, Unco Hank says, “Thank you very much,” in what he thinks is a brilliant Elvis voice. He’s funny like that. :)

      We didn’t get to see Cameron House this time, but hopefully in the future. xx

      Reply

  6. fredblue
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 08:32:22

    Welcome Home, Elizabeth!

    Reply

  7. ansuyo
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 19:22:16

    So glad you’re back home, and so sorry this happened. It’s a good thing it didn’t get any worse!!!! Angie

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

