Petal and Elephant Cop An Attitude!

Words, it’s amazing how a particular word can change the mood, setting, or tone of a written piece. I played around with a few words while writing this Haiku. I wanted it to ring true so the choice of words is important.

I looked at: soaring, dancing, sailing, falling, blown, swept, thrown, each of these words can change the meaning, depth, and insight of this little Haiku. Mmm, I chose sailing.

I am a petal  

sailing on the charging winds

up, down, flying free!

It’s a Haiku kind of day so lets plug-in another:

Elephant rears up

its trunk is packed and ready

the door holds steady

Artwork: Open Mouthed Elephant in the room by Banksy. Click on the picture to enjoy his wonderful work. 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 18:10:16

    I enjoy Haiku–the reading of. I am a lazy thinker so not much on the writing of. But you are inspiring me so maybe I will give it a try–someday…

    Reply

  2. elizabeth
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 21:55:59

    I hope you do Patricia. You can use syllablecounter.com to help speed things up :)

    Reply

  3. Carol Ann Hoel
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 22:12:02

    I like the vibrant red! The photos and Haiku are lovely together. Blessings to you, Elizabeth…

    Reply

  4. Deanna Schrayer
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:38:52

    You chose the perfect word in ‘sailing’ Elizabeth, that is so beautfiul! I envy those who can write any kind of poetry. Thanks so much for sharing these!

    Reply

  5. ivonprefontaine
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 19:23:54

    I enjoyed your revealing of the process with your list of words at the beginning. It is not an easy chore to write a Haiku.

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

