A Healthy Sun-Tan or Permanent Disfigurement?

This is the picture of a truck driver who spent 28 years on the road. The damage to his face? caused by sun streaming in through his driver-side window all those years. How scary is that!

We are constantly warned to wear sunscreen as protection from the sun, but for many those warnings go straight over their head. For some people the desire for a healthy looking tan compels them to bake themselves relentlessly. For others it’s indifference or ignorance. But seriously folks, if that poor man’s face does not horrify you into slathering on the SPF 30 an inch thick I don’t know what it’d take.

The question we need to ask is, will my face be as damaged as his in ten or twenty years? It might not be that bad, but if you are not protecting it, your skin will without doubt, be seriously damaged. 

I’ve had folks laugh at me for using my umbrella while walking from the car to the store. I can’t use sunscreen, and it’s the only other way I know to protect myself from those damaging rays. I really do get a sunburn in those few minutes if I don’t shield my skin. So, I’m past caring what folks think of me and my bright-yella-umbrella. 

If you are one of those, it’ll never happen to me types when it comes to skin cancer maybe seeing the damage done will do the trick. Use SPF 30 every time you are outdoors. You are in full control of how well you and your skin age. Protect the beauty! 

You can read the Yahoo News article by clicking on the following link:

http://health.yahoo.net/experts/dayinhealth/shocking-evidence-left-sided-skin-damage

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Benedict
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 08:11:23

    Even if people are not concerned about the wrinkles and leathery skin excessive tanning causes, the link to cancer is definitely something to worry about. I can’t tolerate direct sunlight and burn even if I’m in the shade for more than a few minutes, so I always wear sunscreen and avoid being in the sun.

    Reply

  2. elizabeth
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 08:24:29

    Hi Carol, so good to see you :)
    Some folk might think you’re crazy for saying you burn even in the shade, but I can also testify to that.

    Reply

  3. lifecoachmarie
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:36:15

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Congratulations and thank you for your remarkable contributions! Here’s the link for the image and more info for accepting the award. http://mariewetmore.com/2012/06/02/its-awards-season-whats-your-favorite-blog-why/

    Reply

  4. lifecoachmarie
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:37:01

    Also, I recently switched to physical sunscreen (high percentage of zinc) and it is a miracle. Nothing gets through it. More expensive but worth it.

    Reply

  5. ansuyo
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 14:25:21

    YIKES!!!

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

