The Avengers, (Danger: Mild Spoiler-Alert!)

On Sunday Hubby and I went to see the Avengers movie. We figured it’d been out for a while and the theater  wouldn’t be packed. We’d had a delicious steak dinner at Texas Roadhouse and got to Movies-10 20 minutes before the movie was due to start. We were happy to find the place was two-thirds empty. But our joy was short-lived.  Every seat filled with mummies and daddies and hoards of noisy little curtain-climbers and ankle-biters before the pre-movie ads had finished.

One dad sat his young son in the only seat left, the one next to me. The boy was about nine or ten years old. Five minutes after the dad went to his seat (at the other end of the row) the wee fella digs his cell-phone out of his pocket, has a shifty down to see if Dad is looking his way, and turns it on.

Now, if there is one thing that rattles my cage in the movie theater it’s someone using a cell-phone. I feel like there’s an interrogation-like spotlight being held to my eyes. I give the wee fella a minute to see if he’s going to turn the thing off. Nope, he’s texting like a pro! So I say to him, “You need to turn that off.” And what do you know, he does! No humpfs, no dirty looks, just compliance. I like this kid.

He sits next to me and quietly watches the movie. Until it gets to the part where, Loki  the bad guy, tags Iron-man (unsuited) with the minion-making sphere on the heart, then he jumps up, and turns to me saying, “It didn’t work because of the disk on his heart, remember?” He was so cute! And I’m like, “Wow, is that why?” Ha-ha.

Kids, they’re infectious. His little outburst reminded me of a time when I was in Residential school in Scotland. I was so engrossed in the Mary Tyler Moore show that I burst out in front of everyone in the T.V. lounge shouting, “It was you!, It was you!” to the character who was asking, “Who could have done this?”  I was mortified when I realized that everyone was laughing at me. What can I say, I was a terribly shy kid.

If you haven’t seen the Avengers movie I’d recommend you do. It is fun, and highly entertaining. Some of the one liners are especially hilarious. I can’t imagine it would be as entertaining on DVD unless you have a projector in the house. On the big screen it is wonderfully larger than life. Just as it should be. 

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherrysf
    May 29, 2012 @ 10:45:39

    (caution: spoiler comment ahead)I love this post and, yes Avengers was really good! Those one liners were unexpected and hilarious. I also got a kick out of Hulk unexected punch at the end.. Watched in 3D. Good acting line-up…love Robert Downey Jr!

    Reply

  2. elizabeth
    May 29, 2012 @ 10:50:14

    Sherry, I loved the lead-in to the Hulk’s beat-down, and that punch :)

    Don’t know if I could have watched it in 3D though, some of those around me might’av got hurt :)

    Reply

  3. AlKiMi
    May 29, 2012 @ 11:04:13

    I went to see the movie in 2D, because 3D hurts my eyes… But I agree, the movie was awesome – I’ve seen it twice now :)

    Reply

  4. elizabeth
    May 29, 2012 @ 12:12:59

    Hey Alexandra M! Good to see you here. Thanks for the comment. :)

    To the rest of my visiters, if you haven’t visited Alex’s blog you’re missing great insight into teen life. I love her blog. It’s honest, fresh, and she has a voice that is unmistakably today. I’ve learned so much from her experiences. For YA authors her writings are a goldmine.

    I just clicked on her link and was saddened to see her blog has been closed. That’s sad! I hope she is just in the process of revamping. :(

    Reply

  5. AlKiMi
    May 30, 2012 @ 12:18:19

    Um… my blog is closed? Eeek! How do I fix it? I promise I haven’t closed it!!! Aaargh!

    Reply

  6. AlKiMi
    May 30, 2012 @ 12:19:20

    OH!
    It’s because I changed the link to alkimi1.wordpress.com… I think!

    Reply

  7. AlKiMi
    May 30, 2012 @ 12:19:38

    Sorry for spamming your post by the way!

    Reply

  8. elizabeth
    May 30, 2012 @ 12:25:15

    That’s okay Alex :)

    You might need to find our how to change the link on your comment posts (the one above the date and time) it is still leading to the closed blog. I will change your Blogroll link here on my blog. Maybe that’ll help here. ?

    Reply

  9. elizabeth
    May 30, 2012 @ 12:29:28

    No, your tag name above your comments is still coming back to your old blog. But the link in my Blogroll take folks to your active blog. :)

    Reply

  10. AlKiMi
    May 30, 2012 @ 12:39:32

    OK, thanks <3

    Reply

  11. ansuyo
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 14:30:04

    ok you spoilers–eyes/ears covered :)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

