The Iron Lady

Last night Hubby and I watched the Margaret Thatcher Biopic, The Iron Lady. I hadn’t seen any reviews on this movie and I was more focused on Meryl Streep’s portrayal of the powerful former British Prime Minister. But a few minutes into the movie tears were rolling down my face. And I cried through till the end.

Now, Margaret Thatcher is possibly thee most hated british prime minister of all time. Her domestic and international policies caused many regular folks a great deal of pain and suffering. Some of which is still being felt to this day. So why was I crying? This movie is not so much about Margaret Thatcher the ‘Iron Lady’, although it does tell that side of her story, but more about the frail old woman living with Alzheimer’s.

Streep’s portrayal of M. T., as Dennis called her, is phenomenal. She brings us right into the confusion, loneliness, fear, and frustration of this horrible illness with such depth it’s heart-breaking. Hence the tears. The flashbacks of the young Margaret and Dennis are particularly touching. Because they show an innocence and tenderness not associated with the name Margaret Thatcher. While the, at times humorous, hallucinations of her dead husband are insightful. They made me wonder about my own mother’s battle. Is this the sort of thing she’s dealing with? What is replaying in her mind. Sadly we’ll never know.

If you haven’t seen this movie I’d urge you not to miss it. Meryl Streep was Margaret Thatcher, but more than that she was a little of everyone struggling with Alzheimer’s. 


5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashleigh
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 10:26:35

    I haven’t seen the film yet but will do. I seen a photo of her in the papers recently and she looks so small and vulnerable. A far cry to what the world knows her as. I’m looking forward to seeing Meryl Streep play her x

    Reply

  2. Patricia
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 12:45:33

    I haven’t seen this yet. I wasn’t sure I wanted to but now I am sure I do. Thanks.

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:02:33

      Patricia, I wasn’t sure I wanted to see it either, but it was one of only two newish movies available at the box so I got it. So glad I did. It’s one of those movies I’d want to keep.

      Reply

  3. elizabeth
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:00:52

    Ashleigh, it’s nothing like what I expected. Make sure you have your tissues right next to you. xx

    Reply

  4. ansuyo
    May 01, 2012 @ 15:21:39

    I didn’t know MT was so hated. Thanks for the education :)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

