The Precipice (OR) Live Now!

This is a little dark, but I think it makes a valid point. Life is short for everyone. Though I note it is much shorter for some than others. Enjoy.  (Many thanks to Orel for his stunning photograph of my beloved Scotland.)

After I reread this a few times I thought, really all that is needed is the last stanza. It says it all. 

We are standing on the precipice

Of where we started from

And looking over shoulders

At times so quickly gone

*

We’re holding onto memories

That should have long been thrown

Off the edge of sanity

To depth of pits unknown

*

And we can’t help but  to carry

Those trinket’s — cherished wealth

Those times spent swimming wastelands

In days of strength and health

*

We look at youth and marvel

At the carefree joy we shared

But time swooped in and robbed the lot

And nothing strong was spared

*

We are standing on the precipice

Of what doubtless lies ahead

A polished box with knockers on

And earth itself our bed.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Balsillie & Associates
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 12:39:26

    Wonderful post!

    Reply

  2. Angela Young
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 12:46:45

    Wow! That’s awesome:) Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Reply

  3. salmonriverwife
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 12:49:01

    Exactly!! LIVE NOW! You are such a gifted, talented writer:)

    Reply

  4. Orel Di Angelo
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 14:53:04

    What an amazing poem! I’m very happy that you chose this picture to go with it. Again, you’re a brilliant poet.

    Reply

  5. elizabeth
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 15:41:49

    Orel, you also are too kind. This picture was perfect for what I want to convey. The fact that it was taken in Scotland tied in so well with the looking back to where I started from. So, once again, thank you my friend. You and your work are a wonderful blessing not only to me, but to so many others. WHEN that big coffee-table book of your work comes out I will be the first in line to buy one. :)

    Reply

  6. Deanna Schrayer
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 16:34:50

    This is so very profound Elizabeth. Thanks so much for sharing it with us – I love it!

    Reply

  7. Patricia
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 21:03:34

    So insightful. A lot said with few words…a gift i do not have.

    Reply

  8. elizabeth
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 00:24:11

    Thanks Deanna, and Patricia. :)

    Reply

  9. Carol Benedict
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 09:18:06

    This is so true, Elizabeth. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply

  10. anniemcdonald
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 14:05:21

    excellente dear sis and wonderful pictures of our homeland xxx

    Reply

  11. Jill Bergman
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 22:40:12

    What a wonderful poem! I’m so glad you stopped by my blog so I’d meet you and come to read it!

    Reply

  12. elizabeth
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 00:01:31

    Actually Jill, I stopped by your blog to sign-up for the free print :)
    But LOVED all your wonderful artwork. You’re an awesome artist!
    Thanks for coming by :)

    Reply

  13. AlKiMi
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 10:15:51

    Sorry to comment here – I didn’t know where else to post this. I have a new blog address at http://www.alkimi1.wordpress.com. Thanks!
    By the way, this poem was great. Really moving. :)

    Reply

  14. elizabeth
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 17:26:18

    Hey Alex, I didn’t know who was posting this :) But I will remove your old link and add the new one :)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

