Rock Stars and Me Part 3: Rod the Bod!

Back in the 70s I thought Rod Stewart was the greatest singer alive. For me he was heart-stopping. Especially when he strutted, mike (and stand) in hand, across the stage.

6:00 am one morning I was answering  the room service phone at work. After I said, “Good morning, room service, how can I help you?” This quiet but scratchy voice replies, “Can I please have a screwdriver sent to my room?” Of course I knew immediately who was on the other end of the line. (He was playing in Glasgow the night before.) I had no idea what a Screwdriver was other than a handy-dandy screw remover. “And yeah, I’d like that with freshly squeezed orange-juice.” 

“You’d like a screwdriver and a freshly squeezed orange juice?” “No, I’d like a screwdriver with freshly squeezed orange juice in it.” “Sorry Mr Stewart, but I’ve got no idea what kinda drink a screwdriver is. Can you hold on for a sec and I’ll check with my supervisor?” “Why don’t I just tell you what’s in it?” “Ok.” “It’s a Vodka and orange juice. But like I said, I like freshly squeezed orange in mine.” “Not a problem sir, I’ll squeeze the oranges myself! and send it right up.” “Thanks.”

And I did indeed squeeze the oranges myself. Right after I stopped jumping for joy and screaming. Of course, you know I made a whole jug of freshly squeezed O J just for him! 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 06:46:35

    This is the one I’ve been waiting for Elizabeth. I remember you talking about this giddy experience, but I don’t recall where – maybe WD forums? I’m so glad you shared it with us here – what fun!

    Reply

  2. elizabethre
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 08:45:00

    Thanks Deanna, it was great fun. I worshipped him at that time. It took all the strength I had (as an 18 y.o.) to keep from screaming in his ear, “Rod! I love you!!!” Ha-ha, NOW, you couldn’t pay me to go see him! LOL :)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

