Just a little talk…

When my heart is troubled and my brain is confused

When I’m lost in a world of ifs

I turn to the One who knows what to do

I earnestly seek out His gifts

I close out the world with all of its noise

I quiet my mind and my soul

I lay down my wants and give up my needs

And trust in the One in control

That He is all-powerful, all-knowing, and wise

That He can point the way

To reach the place I’m meant to be

To stay in His will today.

*****

Lead me O’ Lord in the way I should go

Help me stay focused on You

Give me the Word that I can lean on

Teach me all things anew

For I am a child like Your prodigal son

I wander and fall from the path

I go after things I do not need

Bright trinkets that never last

Teach me to cling to the right and the good

To throw off the blight and the snare

Give me Your strength to do as I should

To seek You in deed and in prayer

Give me the will, and the want, and the hope

Raise me as only You can

Set my feet on the path of Truth

And help me to understand

That when the evil one comes to play

He’s seeking my life and my soul

He’s not a friend that I can trust

Nor one I can control

God, be my Light, my Life, and my Way

Keep me in all that I do

Give me the wisdom, grant me the grace

To trust in no one but You.

© 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 09:32:29

    What a beautiful prayer Elizabeth! I believe I’ll print this and hang it where I can read it every morning. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply

  2. elizabethre
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 11:47:28

    Thanks Deanna, sometimes we just need to stop and consider what is going on within. Happy that this is an encouragement for you, and blessed that you’d want to read it each morning. :)

    Reply

  3. Carol Benedict
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 13:57:18

    This is lovely, Elizabeth! It would make a nice, inspirational greeting card.

    Thanks for sharing this. :)

    Reply

  4. elizabeth
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 11:00:15

    Reblogged this on Elizabeth's Reflections.

    Reply

  5. Janice
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 11:23:33

    The house is quiet as all the grandkids have gone home. :-( Catching up on reading my blogs. :-) So glad you reblogged this one. A good way to start of my day. God bless you and have a great week-end.

    Reply

    • elizabeth
      Jul 20, 2013 @ 11:50:01

      Hi Janice, I can imagine the silence is deafening, but what a blessing to have them for a little while. :-) We had our son home last weekend for a few days. It was wonderful.

      Thanks Janice, and God bless you too.

      Reply

  6. Carol Ann Hoel
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 15:48:18

    Beautiful poem, Elizabeth. We all need grace, His sweet unmerited, undeserved favor. Praise Jesus. Blessings to you…

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

