The Book That Makes Me Smile

Even though I love poetry I am not one who likes poetic form. I love free verse. Free verse tells me a story in poetic language, is pleasant to speak, hear, and comprehend. It leaves me with  the feeling that I’ve learned something about another, this world. and or myself.

Last week I took some of my old books to the Half Price Bookstore. I got $15.00 for them. I tried really hard not to shop while I was there, but who can resist? Not me! My first port of call is always the Poetry section. Of course there are way too many books to get through so I try to hone in on those books that are calling my name. 

One book begging me to draw it from among its peers was a jet-black hessian number. It had the word Haiku brushed down the front in water-color white partnered with the outline of a bird in gold-leaf paint. Now, as I said I’m not one for poetic forms, but the artistic feel from this book nudged me to give it a shot.

I fanned it open and started reading: The sun shines in the sky,

And far across the moor there flits

A single butterfly

(BASHO)

I don’t know about you, but that simple verse transported me and made me feel good. As I read on I found many other beautiful Haikus that made me feel good or lifted my spirit. The simple beauty and profound wisdom contained in the verses have a depth to them that I aspire to with my own work. If only!

My $15.00 came out of their till and went straight back into their till in a matter of minutes; but I walked away with a treasure I know I will never return to the HPB.  

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 12:44:13

    I know just what you mean about not being able to resist looking in a book store Elizabeth. I’m the same way, and in libraries too. I could literally spend hours without realizing time has passed at all. Your treasure sounds like just that – a treasure. Thanks for sharing a bit with us!

    Reply

  2. Carol Benedict
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 15:15:41

    What a great find! I enjoy Haiku poetry, too. This one is lovely, Elizabeth. It made me smile, too.

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

