I’ve Got the Ball Rolling on Lowering Cholesterol! And Reversed Bone Loss!

Early last week I got the results of some blood work. It wasn’t good news. My cholesterol and triglycerides were way too high. Doc wanted to put me on a low dose Lipitor, but I told her that I would rather bring them down through diet and exercise. So I started the ball rolling by putting on the walking shoes and picking-up the weights.

I also cut out some of the garbage I’d been eating. Not that there was a lot of garbage, but there was enough to cause some problems. And, to my absolute horror, I came to understand that eating mountains of healthy fruit adds pounds too. So I’ve cut back on fruit, Boo, hoo!

The nurse told me that because I was already eating low-fat that my bad blood numbers could be attributed to the lack of exercise. So exercise is a big part of the program for bringing down those numbers.

So far I’ve lost FIVE POUNDS! yeah!  

I’ve also found that breaking the habit of having something sweet with my cup of tea is an achievable goal. It was hard at first, but the secret is cutting out the extra cups of tea ( throughout the day) and replacing them with healthy fruit teas. Chocolate cookies just don’t taste good with blueberry or raspberry tea.

So, I’m on the road to better health and cleaner blood and looking forward to the next round of blood tests in three months.

The best news is that I have managed to reverse the diagnosis of Osteopenia I got two years ago. Yeah! My bone density test last week showed that my bones were normal and healthy. Whoo-hoo! How did I do it? You may ask…the miraculous D-3 supplement. One year on calcium supplements made no difference, but one year on D-3 reversed the bone loss.



6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. duke1959
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 09:58:18

    That’s our Girl!

    Reply

  2. desk49
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 13:40:37

    Fruit’s are good
    Fruit’s are bad
    Fats are good
    Fats are bad
    Walking is good
    Will not for me
    it likes, to kill my knees

    Egg’s are good
    Egg’s are bad
    Fiber’s are good
    Fiber’s are bad
    Swimming is good
    will not for me
    I swim like a rock you see

    Will I sway good luck
    I’ll be pulling for thee

    Reply

  3. Carol Benedict
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 18:27:38

    You’re doing great, Elizabeth! I’m trying to exercise more, too, but so far I haven’t lost any weight. My doctor wanted me to lose 20 pounds before my 6 month checkup, but I’ll be seeing him on Thursday and still have 20 pounds to lose!

    Thanks for the tip about D3.

    Reply

  4. Deanna Schrayer
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 15:34:17

    Go, Elizabeth go! It’s great to know it can be done. My eating habits are horrific, and I can’t do any more strenuous exercise than walking, so I have to be sure to take the right vitamins. Without my B complex I’d be in bad shape, (or worse I should say).

    Be careful though, you don’t want to lose a lot of weight real fast. Well, you might want to, but it wouldn’t be healthy.

    Reply

  5. Dorraine
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 20:54:35

    So proud of you, E! You’re doing amazing. Keep walking and I have no doubt you’ll stay off of that medication!

    Reply

  6. elizabethre
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 07:59:37

    Thanks everyone :) I’ve had one day of foot pain because of the walking, but its fine now. I haven’t lost any more weight, but I’m putting that down to building muscle :)

    I went to the docs and got my last three bone density test results because I wanted to see the differences. The calcium supplements did make a difference, but it was so small as to be negligible. The D-3 took the reading from -1.33 to -0.1 which is a big difference. So if you are not on a D-3 supplement (1000 IUs a day) you might want to consider it.

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

