Withdrawal

Last week was not an unusual week. I don’t recall anything in particular taking up my time, but the reading of seven books (Poetry) and a couple of medical tests. Why am I digging back through last week? I have written nothing except two poems (first drafts). I haven’t touched any of the two stories I am working on. And today I feel like I am going through withdrawal. It’s a horrible feeling.

I know I am no great writer, and I doubt I’ll ever win any prizes, but there is something in me that falls to the pits if I do not write. I have to get back to work and soon. Thankfully I am much closer to getting glasses that actually work for me. I know the hoopla concerning the back and forth with lenses etc has had some to do with the lack of production. But I could have plodded on. I didn’t.


I’m making a promise to myself today. I promise that I will get back on track by putting together a daily schedule and keeping it. With that in mind here is a free book:

60-Tips-Tools-for-Staying-at-the-Writing-Desk

Please visit Joan’s site: www.literaryliving.com.

What about you? Do you have a daily or weekly writing schedule? How do you feel when you haven’t written in a while?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. desk49
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 00:16:34

    So do I have a daily or weekly writing schedule?
    NO
    Sorry
    I write
    what comes to me
    when it comes to me
    if nothing comes to me
    I don’t write

    What can I write
    if there’s nothing there
    what could I share
    if I have nothing to share

    if I don’t put down nothing
    is nothing really there
    My God if that’s true
    My brain could be bear

    If writing a chore
    don’t do it no more
    and when it wants
    it’ll come running to you

    Reply

  2. Deanna Schrayer
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 07:51:32

    I’m right there with you Elizabeth. I’m beginning to get the shakes myself after having hardly written at all this past week. I had surgery last Monday and am just now starting to feel “normal” again, so I have a good excuse, (or so I tell myself anyway). Finally yesterday I started a new story, but I’m not supposed to be doing that, I’m only supposed to be working on my novel.

    Every once in a while I’ll create a writing schedule, but then something, (usually having to do with my sons), knocks it for a loop and I end up just jotting things down whenever I have a minute. Thanks very much for the link, I’ll definitely check out the ideas! And good luck to you!

    Reply

  3. elizabethre
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 09:18:44

    Ellis, it’s not a chore. Just that I feel physically off if I haven’t had the peace and or have been too busy to write. I usually start each day with writing. It may be nothing more than a blog post or short poem, but if I’m not doing any writing I physically miss it.

    Deanna, I had no idea you were having surgery. I don’t know if I forgot you were or if you didn’t mention it, but I’ll be praying for your continued refreshing and strengthening.

    Reply

    • Deanna Schrayer
      Oct 18, 2010 @ 04:02:44

      I hadn’t mentioned having surgery Elizabeth, so you didn’t miss it. I didn’t want to alarm anyone when it was “minor”. I never expected recovery to take so long, but I am doing okay. Thanks very much for the prayer – it does work miracles. :)

      Reply

  4. Paige von
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 17:23:16

    you know writing blog post count as writing, really it does. so does little single stanza pieces and doing art journaling, it does. I mean it.

    you can and will do it

    Hey, how ya doing? Glade I didn’t have to help y’all move, that sounded rough and no Chi-WoW-WoWs for me (they bark and shiver too much)

    {{{hugs}}}

    Reply

  5. Carol Benedict
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 18:21:15

    I don’t have a writing schedule but I admire people who do.

    I used to get stressed if I didn’t write something every day, but lately it hasn’t bothered me. The weather has been so lovely I’ve spent my spare time sitting on the deck reading instead of writing.

    Reply

  6. Dorraine
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 08:53:35

    A writing schedule is peachy and all that, E, but sometimes life does get in the way. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Just begin again! Thanks for the link and write on!

    Reply

  7. Jai Joshi
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 15:16:38

    I know what you mean about feeling down when you’re not producing any writing. I get the same way. But don’t be too hard on yourself. When you’re having issues seeing because your glasses are all wrong then it’s understandable that you didn’t feel like staring at a computer screen for hours.

    Good luck with the schedule.

    Jai

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

