Telling Tales

I am working on the retelling of an old tale. The tale is about early Christianity and Druidism in Scotland. It is also a love story. I enjoyed this story so much I wanted to share it with the world. I figured retelling it would be a case of simply updating the language and cutting some of the extraneous description. But as I’ve gotten into it I’m finding it entails a whole lot more.

I came across the book while I was in the Mitchell Library in Glasgow doing some research on Glasgow’s patron Saint, St. Mungo (also know as Saint Kentigern). The librarian went into the stocks and brought out a handful of books on the subject and this story was one of those books.

The story was published in the late eighteen hundreds and this is the last known copy anywhere. I decided to copy and rewrite it; thinking that it would be such a shame if the story wasted away on some dark shelf. Being that it was in the public domain there was no problem getting permission to make a copy. So that’s what I did. I made a copy.

I have been working on it a little bit at a time over the last month or so, and I am really enjoying the adventure. Apart from, as I said earlier, the fact there is a lot more to the retelling than I first imagined . I am having to totally rewrite whole paragraphs due to the heavily academic and intellectual verbose. For a better educated or more experienced writer this rewrite wouldn’t be such a challenge. But for me it is a huge challenge.

I want to refresh the tale for today’s readers, but worry that I may end-up losing the beauty of the original story. I’ll update this post at later intervals. For now, it’s back to work.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. desk49
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 01:55:56

    “The tale is about early Christianity and Druidism in Scotland. It is also a love story. ”

    You love the story or is it a love story between two people?
    Sorry sometimes I get lossed.

    Reply

  2. Deanna Schrayer
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 04:24:41

    Elizabeth, this sounds so exciting! I do hope you’ll keep plugging along, for without thoughtful people like you, (you’re right), these stories would be lost. Many stories, but especially a classic, historic tale deserves the chance to live on.
    Let us know anytime you feel frustrated – we’ll push you along. ;)

    Reply

  3. elizabethre
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 07:01:32

    Both Ellis, sorry for the confusion. I have rewritten that sentence.

    Thanks Deanna, I may just take you up on your offer :)

    Reply

  4. desk49
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 18:01:03

    No rewrite needed because of my first post.
    I’m just old and sometimes loss my way.

    As for the story is it short or long, are you going to post it here?
    Is it about noble people or commoners?

    Reply

  5. elizabethre
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 21:28:09

    Ellis,

    It’s a full length novel about, Scottish and Druid Kings and Princesses, Monks, and Priests, Knaves and Vassals, Secret societies and virgin sacrifices, heroes, and villains. The story is played out on the wild and rugged Scottish landscape at the back end of the sixth century.

    I’m retelling the story for the young adult age group– though I also think it would make a fantastic picture book.

    I won’t be posting it online as I intend submitting it for publication when it is finished.

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

