Games and Patches

As I mentioned when I got home from Scotland I have added a few pounds to my already plump torso. I should say that I am overweight not obese. So I’m okay with it, but would like to lose those extra pounds. In an attempt at being supportive hubby bought me my birthday present early (way early).

I got the Wii and the balance board which came with the Wii Fit Plus software. And I admit it was fun for a while. But I was getting just a little too into it and hurting myself. My knees hurt, my back hurt, and my neck hurt. Not to mention I almost went through the TV a few times. I decided that video games were not the way to go.

For me, the trouble starts right after we’ve had dinner and I want a cup of tea. I can’t ‘just’ have tea. I must have something with my tea. A cookie, or some fruit, or a small candy bar. From there it goes on until bedtime. I’m still snacking right before bed. The cravings don’t stop. If I don’t have any sweet goodies in the house I’ll butter up a couple of crackers and have them.


While at a woman’s gathering this morning I listened to a lady who was promoting health. She was wearing vitamin patches (all natural) and she preceded to tell us about them. Some of the patches were for weight loss, some for energy, some for insect repellent. According to the lady she herself had lost 10 lbs in a few months. She said her cravings just  vanished. Well, I thought, that’s what I’m looking for! (Of course I’d lose more than she did.)

I listened to the pitch about the patches, and wondered why I didn’t know about them already. It seemed they had been on the market for the last eight years. We got to the, ‘anybody got questions’ period and I asked if there was any caffeine in the patches. The lady read out a list of vitamins from the back of the package and nope, no caffeine! Fantastic! (In case you didn’t know, caffeine is very bad for ‘the girls’ health.)

Another lady asked about the cost. A month’s supply for any of the patches was $80.00. That was a bit of a shocker. I decided I’d come home and look up the company and their products. It was like trying to get into the pentagon! I managed to get into their products page (but not their prices page).  As I read the list of ingredients for the slimming patch I noticed the word: Guarana. Not knowing what that was I looked it up. Ah, you’re way ahead of me. That’s right it’s caffeine! Basically, I could get the same effect as a Red-Bull, nervous ticks and lumpy breasts, but pay a lot more for the privilege.


The ingredient in the insect repellent was Aloe Vera! Shoot, I could go outside, break off a leaf and rub that on myself for nothing! So that was that.  The bubble was well and truly burst and I’m having to go back to the old exercise and stop eating so much routine. At least this way I’m not being taken for a mug. Well, except when I kid myself that I’ll only eat one cookie with my tea.

Maybe if she’d worn one of these patches I’da had a heads-up.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanna Schrayer
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 05:36:50

    This post is hilarious Elizabeth, (though I do feel your pain).

    New fangled fads are one of my pet peeves. I don’t understand why anyone would pay so much to do something they can do for a lot less, if not free. I’m glad to hear you researched those patches before buying them. $80 a month? Gracious! That’s crazy!

    My thoughts on losing weight? I know you didn’t ask, but I feel the need to share the little knowledge I have. I studied to be a nutritionist, (yes, this shocks everyone who’s seen my recipes), so I know a wee bit. It’s better to eat small amounts about 6 – 7 times a day than to eat 3 large meals a day and then try not to eat after supper. By doing this, and drinking a couple of glasses of water with that last meal, your tummy is satisfied, but not too full, and it curbs the late evening hunger. And of course taking vitamin B12 each morning helps with energy.

    I’ve been overweight in the past, but that was due to surgery complications and scar tissue build up, which I was none too happy to learn but at least I knew it wasn’t because I was lazy or over eating. Some of us have medical issues that cause the weight problems so we simply can’t help it. I hope you DON’T have medical issues, but it might be something to think about. Maybe you should ask your doctor about it?

    Okay, I’ll step down off my soap box now. :) Thanks for the laughs this morning! And good luck with your weight loss plans – I’m rooting for you!

    Reply

  2. Dorraine
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 12:15:18

    Ya, I laughed out loud at the picture you painted of possibly ramming through the TV!

    I can certainly relate to the weight dilemma. It seems I’ve been fighting cookies all my life.

    Good for you for doing the research on the patches and all things in between. With Google, there’s no reason to be uninformed. Yeah, and I wouldn’t pay eight bucks for those patches of caffeine either! You could buy some of the finest tea in the world for that price tag. :-)

    Reply

  3. Carol Benedict
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 12:31:30

    Sadly there doesn’t seem to be an easy way to lose weight. I do best when I eat a moderate amount of food at each meal, take a good multivitamin, and add a little extra walking to my normal routine. I’ve lost about 15 pounds in the last year doing that.

    As for the cravings, I’ve had them, and often it turns out they’re caused by a particular deficiency–especially vitamin D, B12, calcium, or iron.

    Stress is another factor that can cause food cravings. Carbs and sugars are “comfort” foods for some people, and make us feel temporarily better–even though in the long term they ruin our health.

    Try decaffeinated red tea. It’s tasty, especially the flavored ones like Highland Honey, and it’s very good for you. Maybe you won’t need a cookie with a tea that tastes sweet.

    Reply

  4. elizabethre
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 08:28:47

    My thoughts on losing weight? I studied to be a nutritionist, (yes, this shocks everyone who’s seen my recipes),
    Ha-ha Deanna, you’re so funny :) I’m going to try that drinking two glasses of water after dinner.

    Dorraine, I was getting so into the swordPLAY that I’d get an inch away from needing a new TV. :)

    Wow Carol, I’d be happy to lose 15 lbs in a year! It is cravings that cause me the problems. I do take (religiously) all my vitamins and supplements. Though I only take B12 on a Saturday morning due to the intensity (look at the cat above) daily intake caused me :) I might up it to three times a week and see how that works.

    I didn’t know there was flavored red tea.

    Thanks for the support guys :)
    Elizabeth

    Reply

  5. Paige
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 12:36:52

    patches are like get rich schemes, oh wait you already found that out :-)

    Reply

  6. Rahaelgupta
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 09:59:43

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks :)

    Reply

Not sure you should comment? Please don't be shy, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

